Inner Banner

Vigilance Commissioners

Dr. Tejendra Mohan Bhasin

Dr. Tejendra Mohan Bhasin

Dr. TM Bhasin has been appointed as Vigilance Commissioner in the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) through a transparent application cum merit and experience based criteria, by a Warrant of Appointment issued by the Hon’ble President of India, w.e.f. 11th June 2015, on the recommendations of a High Powered Selection Committee headed by Hon’ble Prime Minister of India; with Hon’ble Home Minister and Leader of Largest Party of opposition in the Lok Sabha, being the members of the Committee.

Dr. Bhasin is MBA (Finance) from FMS, Delhi and LL.B. from     University of     Delhi, CAIIB     and M.Sc. Gold Medallist. He is Delhi University topper in its one year flagship programme in ‘Criminology and Forensic Science’. Dr. Bhasin has pursued his Advanced Financial Management Program at HARVARD KENNEDY SCHOOL, US. Dr. T.M. Bhasin has pursued research under the C.H. Bhabha Research Scholarship (1999-2000) of the Indian Banks’ Association and his thesis was published as a book on ‘E-Commerce in Indian Banking’ by Authors Press, Delhi in 2002.

University of Madras has conferred Ph.D Degree in ‘BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION’ on Shri Tejendra Mohan Bhasin based on his 4 years research and thesis on the subject: “Impact of Banking on Inclusive Growth”.
Dr. Bhasin joined Oriental Bank of Commerce as a Probationary Officer in June, 1978 and rose to the rank of General Manager in September, 2003. Consequent upon rigorous selection process by the Govt. Of India and RBI, Dr. Bhasin was selected and appointed as Executive Director in United Bank of India on 7th November, 2007.  He was elevated as the Chairman and Managing Director (CMD) of the Indian Bank on Ist April, 2010 where he served till 10thJune 2015.    
During his incumbency as CMD, Indian Bank emerged as one of the strongest and most profitable Banks in India, with lowest Non- Performing Assets and highest Capital Adequacy Ratio. On the strength of these achievements, Dr. Bhasin received many coveted National and State Level awards in the fields of Banking and Finance, such as:

  • National Award for Excellence in Lending to Micro Enterprises for FY 2012 on 4th April, 2013 from the Hon’ble President of India.
  • National Award to Banks FY 2013 – First Prize for Excellence in Lending to Micro Enterprises on Ist March, 2014 from the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India.
  • Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puruskar for 2012-13 for South Zone TOLIC from the Hon’ble President of India.
  • First Prize and Best Bank Award for extending credit to SHGs on 24th February, 2014 from the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu consecutively for 5 years.
  • Financial Express “FE BEST BANK AWARD FOR 2015” from Hon’ble Union Finance Minister.

During his incumbency as Chairman, Indian Banks’ Association (IBA), Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan  Yojana (PMJDY) was successfully implemented and 28 crore new Saving Bank Accounts were opened. Also the Banking Industry level wage settlement for apx.10 lac Bank Officials was concluded, signed and peacefully implemented in May 2015 under his Chairmanship.

Dr. Bhasin was also the Chairman of Governing Board, Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS); President, Indian Institute of Banking and Finance (IIBF); Chairperson, SWIFT User Group India during 2014-15 and served as a Director on the Board of United India Insurance Co. Ltd. for nearly five years.