Inner Banner

Organization Structure

The Central Vigilance Commission has its own Secretariat, Chief Technical Examiners' Wing (CTE) and a wing of Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDI).


The Secretariat consists of a Secretary, four Additional Secretaries, thirty Directors/Deputy Secretaries (including two Officers on Special Duty), four Under Secretaries and office staff.

Chief Technical Examiners' Wing (CTE)

The Chief Technical Examiner's Organization constitutes the technical wing of the Central Vigilance Commission (India) and is manned by two Engineers of the rank of Chief Engineers(designated as Chief Technical Examiners) with supporting engineering staff. The main functions assigned to this organisation are:

  • Technical audit of construction works of Governmental organisations
    from a vigilance angle;
  • Investigation of specific cases of complaints relating to construction works;
  • Extension of assistance to CBI in their investigations involving technical matters and for evaluation of properties in Delhi; and Tendering of advice/assistance to the Commission and Chief Vigilance Officers in vigilance cases involving technical matters.

Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDIs)

There are fourteen posts of Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDI) in the Commission, 11 in the rank of  Director  and 03 with the rank of Deputy Secretary. The CDIs function as Inquiry Officers to conduct Oral inquiries in departmental proceeding initiated against public servants.