The Commission

The Commission consists of a Central Vigilance Commissioner (Chairperson) and not more than two Vigilance Commissioners (Members). The Central Vigilance Commission has its own Secretariat, Chief Technical Examiners' Wing (CTE), a wing of Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDI) and the Chief Vigilance Officers.


The Secretariat consists of a Secretary who has the powers of Head of Department, four Additional Secretaries, thirty one Directors/Deputy Secretaries (including three Officers on Special Duty), Eight Under Secretaries and office staff. Commission also takes services of four officers of DGM/GM level drawn from various banks on secondment basis.

Chief Technical Examiners' Wing (CTE)

The Chief Technical Examiner's Organization constitutes the technical wing of the Central Vigilance Commission. The wing comprises of two Chief Technical Examiners (of the rank of Chief Engineer), who, in turn, are assisted by eight Technical Examiners (of the rank of Executive Engineer) and other supporting engineering staff.

Commissioners for Departmental Inquiries (CDIs)

Commission may appoint any officer of the rank of Director/ Deputy Secretary posted in the commission as commissioner of Departmental inquiries (CDI). The CDIs function as inquiry Officer to conduct oral inquiries in departmental proceeding initiated against public servants.

Chief Vigilance Officers (CVOs)

Each department/organization, to which the advisory jurisdiction of the CVC extends, has a vigilance unit headed by a Chief Vigilance Officer (CVO). The CVOs act as the extended arms of the CVC and for all practical purposes represent the CVC in respect of vigilance matters. The CVO serves as a vital link between the department/organization and the CVC.